Fog/Mist
78°FFog/MistFull Forecast

General Assembly overrides Quinn’s concealed carry veto

Roth, Rezin ‘happy to see this issue has been addressed’

Published: Wednesday, July 10, 2013 9:48 a.m. CDT

SPRINGFIELD — The General Assembly voted Tuesday to shoot down Gov. Pat Quinn’s amendatory veto of a bill legalizing concealed carry in Illinois.

The Senate voted 41-17 to override the veto after the House voted 77-31 to do the same.

Last week, nearing the deadline a federal appellate court gave the state to change its laws, Quinn wrote stricter regulations into the bill both houses approved in the regular session.

Among other things, Quinn called for a ban on guns in establishments with a liquor license and limits to the number of rounds a gun can hold.

But lawmakers, who’d approved the original bill 45-12 in the Senate and 102-13 in the House, had more than enough votes to override Quinn’s veto.

“Governor Quinn clearly overstepped his authority by changing the concealed carry legislation,” stated Rep. Pam Roth (R-Morris) in a statement released Tuesday afternoon.

“The General Assembly worked hard and came up with a compromise bill between Republicans and Democrats from all across Illinois.  It was wrong for the governor to come in at the last minute and change this legislation simply so he could score political points in Chicago. House Bill 183 is now state law and concealed carry is coming to Illinois.”

“I’m happy to see that this issue has been addressed,” said State Sen. Sue Rezin (R-Morris) in a phone conversation Tuesday. “At least we did it and can move on from here.”

Because of the vote, Illinois residents will soon be able to register for a concealed carry license, which is separate from the Firearms Owner Identification Card required to possess a firearm.

It will cost $150 and will require 16 hours of firearms training.

The law is in effect, but residents will not be able to carry concealed firearms for a couple months as state police work to implement the program.

Illinois is the final state in the union to approve a concealed carry law.

In January, a federal appellate court found the state’s laws unconstitutional and gave them 180 days to change the law.

If legislators had not passed a bill by Tuesday, concealed carry would have gone into effect without regulations.

The Senate passed another gun measure Tuesday, which would require those stopped by police to say if they’re carrying a weapon and make stronger provisions for mental health reporting, among other measures.

“I think that’s important,” Rezin said, referring to the mental health reporting. Rezin supported the measure, which was in the House as of press time.

To override a governor’s veto, the Senate needs 36 votes and the House needs 71.

Attorney General Lisa Madigan still has until July 24 to decide whether or not to appeal the ruling of the 7th Circuit that cleared the way for concealed carry.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Morris Daily Herald.

Watch Now

Player embeded on all MDH instances for analytics purposes.

Morris High School Ice Bucket Challenge

More videos »